Not so little tiny gem

In the last fortnight, I have found out two things that have rocked my world off if its axis.

A bit of background: When I was 11, my form tutor (the late, great Mr Kaufman) used to call me Little Gem. He was quite insistent that as the second ‘little gem’ that he had had in his form, by the time I reached VI form, I’d be as tall as him. Alas, it wasn’t to be- I remained stubbornly short, or so I thought.

I was perusing the internet a couple of weeks ago, and found out that far from being a little shorty, as my nickname of 20-odd years would indicate, the average height of a woman in the UK is actually 5 ft 5 and a half, not 5 ft 8 as I’d decided it was in my head. Being somewhere between 5’3 and 5’4, that actually just made me only a tiny bit less than average!

This morning, I decided to get Mr Mark to measure me (I was trying to work out my BMI- the obvious thing to be doing at 7 in the morning, when you really should be making lunch, going to work, that sort of thing) because I wasn’t overly sure how tall I was really and wanted a definitive answer. Lo and behold, I measured up as 5 FOOT 5!! Even putting down half an inch for post-sleeping shrinkage over the course of the day, not only am I taller than I ever thought I was, I’m also even closer to ‘normal’ than I ever thought was possible.

I’ll never be able to buy things in the petite section of clothes shops again! And I can’t use shortness as an excuse for not bothering to put things away in high cupboards/dust on top of the curtain rails. I even called my home baking business ‘the Little Gem Bakery’ for pity’s sakes! And it’s all lies! I think I might be having an identity crisis!!

Leave a Reply

