Swirly dresses

A few weeks back, I was having a bit of a panic about what to wear for an impending birthday shindig. The destination, a cabaret/supper club, the Wam Bam Club, and not particularly wanting to get my arse out in frilly knicks and a corset, I decided a slinky dress was the way forward. Cue lots of searching for a slinky dress that would fit over my ample backside, and rather slim waist.

It wasn’t to be, sadly and after perusing all the shops in the vicinity, and most of ebay looking for a perfect vintage find, I had to admit defeat and go for something slightly less slinky, but rather glamourous none the less- This to be precise (not that you can see the bottom of it, but to confirm, it’s a full circle skirt at the bottom, falling a few inches below the knee- felt very 50s film starry):

Me and the mister

Rather pleased with the effect in the end, teamed with a cocktail hat, fur shrug, and finally a non-shirley-temple attempt at curling my hair (more on that later- It took a night in bed in rollers and a hairnet to achieve!). Whaddaya reckon? Do I pass?

Here I am with the other girls I went with, pratting around on a big bed-sofa type thing- very comfy

A brief bit about my evening- Many many drinks drunk, so I can’t tell too much, but the cabaret (2 burlesque acts, a comedian, 1 boylesque, one acrobat) was pretty good, although the burlesque was a bit… unimaginative… Not that I’ve seen a huge amount of burlesque, but this seemed a bit blah in my humble opinion. Comedian was good though, not that I can remember her name now! The downside- service charges! Now I don’t mind tipping a waitress at the end of a meal,  but I’m not in America and certainly won’t do it every time a drink is brought to my table- I’ll just go to the bar, except that was frowned on. And I very much resent paying a 12% service charge to pay for drinks on my debit card. Especially when you’re buying a bottle of wine that cost close to 30 quid- That’s quite enough of a markup already thank you very much- I don’t even think Ryan Air charge that much to pay on card! AND I really hate it when bars ‘only serve double measures’- Granted the amount I drink is down to me and me alone- Nobody’s standing there with a pipette, forcing it down my throat, but you must admit it does make it a bit harder to control your intake if the bar will only serve doubles, right? Sorry Wam Bam, I know you’re in the middle of one of the most touristy bits of London, but I did go home feeling rather ripped off by the whole experience

Leave a Reply

